Home
Home
Forums
Forums
Downloads
Downloads
Account
Account
Advertise on IAH
Main Menu   
 
HomeHome  
    Home
Community  
    Forums
    FAQ
    Content
    Gallery
    Reviews
    Surveys
    Topics
Members  
    Private Messages
    Your Account
    Profile
    Members List
Statistics  
    Statistics
Files & Links  
    Downloads
    Web Links
News  
    News
    Submit News
Other  
    Advertising
    Shout Box
    Site Map
    Recommend Us
    Feedback
    Legal Notices


User Info   
 
Good evening 
Anonymous



Register
Lost Password
Username
Password

 Online:   
Member(s):
01sssram

Guest(s):
02. Guest
03. Guest
04. Guest
05. Guest
06. Guest
07. Guest
08. Guest
09. Guest
10. Guest
11. Guest
12. Guest
13. Guest
14. Guest
15. Guest
16. Guest
17. Guest
18. Guest
19. Guest
20. Guest
21. Guest
22. Guest
23. Guest
24. Guest
25. Guest
26. Guest
27. Guest
28. Guest
29. Guest
30. Guest
31. Guest
32. Guest
33. Guest
34. Guest
35. Guest
36. Guest
37. Guest
38. Guest
39. Guest
40. Guest
41. Guest
42. Guest
43. Guest
44. Guest
45. Guest
46. Guest
47. Guest
48. Guest
49. Guest
50. Guest
51. Guest
52. Guest
53. Guest
54. Guest
55. Guest
56. Guest
57. Guest
58. Guest
59. Guest
60. Guest
61. Guest
62. Guest
63. Guest
64. Guest
65. Guest
66. Guest
67. Guest
68. Guest
69. Guest
70. Guest
71. Guest
72. Guest
73. Guest
74. Guest
75. Guest
76. Guest
77. Guest
78. Guest
79. Guest
80. Guest
81. Guest
82. Guest
83. Guest
84. Guest
85. Guest
86. Guest
87. Guest
88. Guest
89. Guest
90. Guest
91. Guest
92. Guest
93. Guest
94. Guest
95. Guest
96. Guest
97. Guest
98. Guest
99. Guest
100. Guest
101. Guest
102. Guest
103. Guest
104. Guest
105. Guest
106. Guest
107. Guest
108. Guest
109. Guest
110. Guest
111. Guest
112. Guest
113. Guest
114. Guest
115. Guest
116. Guest
117. Guest
118. Guest
119. Guest
120. Guest
121. Guest
122. Guest
123. Guest
124. Guest
125. Guest
126. Guest
127. Guest
128. Guest
129. Guest
130. Guest
131. Guest
132. Guest
133. Guest
134. Guest
135. Guest
136. Guest
137. Guest
138. Guest
139. Guest
140. Guest
141. Guest
142. Guest
143. Guest
144. Guest
145. Guest
146. Guest
147. Guest
148. Guest
149. Guest
150. Guest
151. Guest
152. Guest
153. Guest
154. Guest
155. Guest
156. Guest
157. Guest
158. Guest
159. Guest
160. Guest
161. Guest
162. Guest
163. Guest
164. Guest
165. Guest
166. Guest
167. Guest
168. Guest
169. Guest
170. Guest
171. Guest
172. Guest
173. Guest
174. Guest
175. Guest
176. Guest
177. Guest
178. Guest
179. Guest
180. Guest
181. Guest
182. Guest
183. Guest
184. Guest
185. Guest
186. Guest
187. Guest
188. Guest
189. Guest
190. Guest

Most Ever Online:   
 Guest(s): 464
 Member(s): 16
 Total: 480

Forums Forums:   
 Posts: 339,565
 Topics: 30,716




http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ :: View topic - Help Regarding Substrate (river sand)
Forum Index  |  Search  |  Usergroups  |  Edit your profile  |  Members  |  Log in to check your private messages
Ranks  |  Staff  |  Statistics  |  Board Rules  |  Forum FAQ  |  Log in



Help Regarding Substrate (river sand)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ Forum Index -> Substrates, Rocks, Driftwood and Decorations
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fAde
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Jul 07, 2010
Posts: 27
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:11 am Post subject: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

 Hi  Guys,
 
 This  is  the  Tank  size  (for  oscars):
 Length  :  4  feet  (48  inches)
 Width  :  2  feet  (24  inches)
 Height  :  2  feet  (24  inches)
 approx  -  120  US  Gallons  Or  450  Litres  
 
 The  substrate  is  river  sand  (as  advised  by  you  guys),  
 my  queries  are  :
 how  many  kgs  of  river  sand  do  I  need?
 and  Is  there  any  particular  type  of  river  sand  to  look  for?  quality  difference  or  something  like  that?
 
 Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sidrock
Banned



Joined: Oct 25, 2009
Posts: 1160
Location: Bombay

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:42 am Post subject: Re: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

 Hi  Fade,
 
 I  am  not  sure  if  the  nomenclature  used  for  the  various  types  of  sand  is  standard  across  the  country.
 
 In  Bombay,  the  sand  sold  as  "river  sand"  is  used  for  the  lowest  layer  of  a  planted  aquarium.  It  is  very  fine  and  not  very  good  looking.
 
 The  type  of  sand  used  for  cosmetic  purposes  (in  non-planted  aquariums  or  as  top  layer  in  planted  aquariums)  is  called  "Golden  Sand"  (in  Bombay).  
 
 Golden  Sand  is  not  actually  sand,  but  a  product  of  crushing  larger  stones  and  pebbles  and  a  few  shells.  Another  type  is  White  Sand  which  might  be  a  product  of  dead  corral.
 
 As  you  need  this  sand  purely  for  cosmetic  purposes,  I  would  recommend  a  very  thin  layer  (just  enough  to  cover  the  glass).  I  think  you  can  get  about  8-10  kg  and  then  get  more  if  needed.  (Golden  Sand  costs  about  20  bucks  a  kg  in  Bombay.)
 
 Wash  the  sand  thoroughly  in  water  and  discard  the  water.  Keep  doing  it  till  the  water  is  clear.  (It's  like  washing  rice.)  
 
 Cheers,
 Sid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Prem kk
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Apr 25, 2007
Posts: 1846
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:01 pm Post subject: Re: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

                                                   
fAde  wrote  (View  Post):                
Hi  Guys,
 
 This  is  the  Tank  size  (for  oscars):
 Length  :  4  feet  (48  inches)
 Width  :  2  feet  (24  inches)
 Height  :  2  feet  (24  inches)
 approx  -  120  US  Gallons  Or  450  Litres  
 
 The  substrate  is  river  sand  (as  advised  by  you  guys),  
 my  queries  are  :
 how  many  kgs  of  river  sand  do  I  need?
 and  Is  there  any  particular  type  of  river  sand  to  look  for?  quality  difference  or  something  like  that?
 
 Thanks.                

 
 The  best  option  is  to  buy  consutruction  sand,  you  should  not  require  more  than  20  kgs  as  you  will  just  need  the  substrate  to  cover  the  glass  as  metioned  by  Sid.
 
 Dont  buy  golden  sand.  Its  reflection  will  make  your  tank  look  yellow  and  your  pictures  will  also  look  yellow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fAde
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Jul 07, 2010
Posts: 27
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:18 pm Post subject: Re: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

                                                   
Sidrock  wrote  (View  Post):                
Hi  Fade,
 
 I  am  not  sure  if  the  nomenclature  used  for  the  various  types  of  sand  is  standard  across  the  country.
 
 In  Bombay,  the  sand  sold  as  "river  sand"  is  used  for  the  lowest  layer  of  a  planted  aquarium.  It  is  very  fine  and  not  very  good  looking.
 
 The  type  of  sand  used  for  cosmetic  purposes  (in  non-planted  aquariums  or  as  top  layer  in  planted  aquariums)  is  called  "Golden  Sand"  (in  Bombay).  
 
 Golden  Sand  is  not  actually  sand,  but  a  product  of  crushing  larger  stones  and  pebbles  and  a  few  shells.  Another  type  is  White  Sand  which  might  be  a  product  of  dead  corral.
 
 As  you  need  this  sand  purely  for  cosmetic  purposes,  I  would  recommend  a  very  thin  layer  (just  enough  to  cover  the  glass).  I  think  you  can  get  about  8-10  kg  and  then  get  more  if  needed.  (Golden  Sand  costs  about  20  bucks  a  kg  in  Bombay.)
 
 Wash  the  sand  thoroughly  in  water  and  discard  the  water.  Keep  doing  it  till  the  water  is  clear.  (It's  like  washing  rice.)  
 
 Cheers,
 Sid                

 
 Thanks  Sid.
 Actually  one  of  the  shop  keeper  referred  this  name  "Golden  Sand",  so  guess  its  called  same  way  here  too..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fAde
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Jul 07, 2010
Posts: 27
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:21 pm Post subject: Re: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

                                                   
Prem  kk  wrote  (View  Post):                

 The  best  option  is  to  buy  consutruction  sand,  you  should  not  require  more  than  20  kgs  as  you  will  just  need  the  substrate  to  cover  the  glass  as  metioned  by  Sid.
 
 Dont  buy  golden  sand.  Its  reflection  will  make  your  tank  look  yellow  and  your  pictures  will  also  look  yellow.                

 
 Thanks  Prem.  
 Point  taken  on  Golden  Sand.
 So,  by  construction  sand,  you  literally  mean  "construction"  sand?  Can  I  use  this  same  term  and  get  it  in  Kolathur?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Prem kk
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Apr 25, 2007
Posts: 1846
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:27 pm Post subject: Re: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

                                                   
fAde  wrote  (View  Post):                
                                                 
Prem  kk  wrote  (View  Post):                

 The  best  option  is  to  buy  consutruction  sand,  you  should  not  require  more  than  20  kgs  as  you  will  just  need  the  substrate  to  cover  the  glass  as  metioned  by  Sid.
 
 Dont  buy  golden  sand.  Its  reflection  will  make  your  tank  look  yellow  and  your  pictures  will  also  look  yellow.                

 
 Thanks  Prem.  
 Point  taken  on  Golden  Sand.
 So,  by  construction  sand,  you  literally  mean  "construction"  sand?  Can  I  use  this  same  term  and  get  it  in  Kolathur?                

 
 I  doubt  you  will  get  it  in  Kolathur.  Look  for  some  construction  site  near  where  ever  you  are  or  the  place  they  sell  them.  Google  should  help  or  Just  dial.
 
 Once  you  get  them  you  can  remove  the  big  particles  by  using  a  fish  net  as  a  strainer  and  use  the  fine  sand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Prem kk
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Apr 25, 2007
Posts: 1846
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:31 pm Post subject: Re: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

 The  picture  below  has  two  bags.  You  will  just  need  one  a  quarter  of  this  bag.  These  were  used  in  my  6  foot  tank  that  you  can  see  in  my  signature.
 
 I  picked  up  this  sand  from  Thiruvallur  as  I  needed  real  fine  sand.
 
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fAde
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Jul 07, 2010
Posts: 27
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:31 pm Post subject: Re: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

                                                   
Prem  kk  wrote  (View  Post):                

 I  doubt  you  will  get  it  in  Kolathur.  Look  for  some  construction  site  near  where  ever  you  are  or  the  place  they  sell  them.  Google  should  help  or  Just  dial.
 
 Once  you  get  them  you  can  remove  the  big  particles  by  using  a  fish  net  as  a  strainer  and  use  the  fine  sand.                

 
 Thanks.  I  will  do  that.
 So  I  can  just  remove  the  big  particles,  rinse  it  well  and  use  it..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Prem kk
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Apr 25, 2007
Posts: 1846
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:33 pm Post subject: Re: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

                                                   
fAde  wrote  (View  Post):                
                                                 
Prem  kk  wrote  (View  Post):                

 I  doubt  you  will  get  it  in  Kolathur.  Look  for  some  construction  site  near  where  ever  you  are  or  the  place  they  sell  them.  Google  should  help  or  Just  dial.
 
 Once  you  get  them  you  can  remove  the  big  particles  by  using  a  fish  net  as  a  strainer  and  use  the  fine  sand.                

 
 Thanks.  I  will  do  that.
 So  I  can  just  remove  the  big  particles,  rinse  it  well  and  use  it..                

 
 Yes!  Once  you  do  that,  the  result  you  should  get  will  be  something  as  shown  in  the  picture  below.  Nice  and  fine  sand.
 
 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
natbox
Regular Poster on IAH
Regular Poster on IAH



Joined: Nov 10, 2006
Posts: 990
Location: Madras-Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 2:56 pm Post subject: Re: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

 @Prem:
 getting  better  with  your  photographing  skills  all  the  time...  guess  hayath's  magic  is  rubbing  off..
 
 between  where  in  tiruvallur?  i  guess  there  is  dry  lake/river  bed  ..  went  there  as  a  kid.  not  much  memories.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
fAde
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Jul 07, 2010
Posts: 27
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:46 pm Post subject: Re: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

                                                   
Prem  kk  wrote  (View  Post):                

 
 Yes!  Once  you  do  that,  the  result  you  should  get  will  be  something  as  shown  in  the  picture  below.  Nice  and  fine  sand.
                 

 
 Thanks  a  lot  Prem!  :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sidrock
Banned



Joined: Oct 25, 2009
Posts: 1160
Location: Bombay

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:54 pm Post subject: Re: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

                                                   
Prem  kk  wrote  (View  Post):                
                                                 
fAde  wrote  (View  Post):                
                                                 
Prem  kk  wrote  (View  Post):                

 I  doubt  you  will  get  it  in  Kolathur.  Look  for  some  construction  site  near  where  ever  you  are  or  the  place  they  sell  them.  Google  should  help  or  Just  dial.
 
 Once  you  get  them  you  can  remove  the  big  particles  by  using  a  fish  net  as  a  strainer  and  use  the  fine  sand.                

 
 Thanks.  I  will  do  that.
 So  I  can  just  remove  the  big  particles,  rinse  it  well  and  use  it..                

 
 Yes!  Once  you  do  that,  the  result  you  should  get  will  be  something  as  shown  in  the  picture  below.  Nice  and  fine  sand.
 
                 

 
 Hi  Prem,
 
 I  was  under  the  impression  that  fine  sand  will  be  a  bit  more  difficult  to  clean  and  might  get  sucked  into  the  filtration  if  the  Cichlids  play  around  in  it.
 
 Will  it  be  better  to  go  for  construction  sand  with  slightly  larger  particles?
 
 Also,  if  cichlids  show  better  color  with  darker  substrate,  what  do  you  think  about  black  substrate  (pebbles)?
 
 For  example,  here's  a  pic  from  Kush's  (Chinkz)  African  tank:  
 
 
 
 (orig  thread:  http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=17720)
 
 Cheers,
 Sid
 
 (PS:  Based  on  your  advice,  I  might  go  for  the  black  substrate  too  for  my  cichlid  tanks.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Prem kk
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Apr 25, 2007
Posts: 1846
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:05 am Post subject: Re: Help Regarding Substrate (river sand) Reply with quote

                                                   
Sidrock  wrote  (View  Post):                
                                                 
Prem  kk  wrote  (View  Post):                
                                                 
fAde  wrote  (View  Post):                
                                                 
Prem  kk  wrote  (View  Post):                

 I  doubt  you  will  get  it  in  Kolathur.  Look  for  some  construction  site  near  where  ever  you  are  or  the  place  they  sell  them.  Google  should  help  or  Just  dial.
 
 Once  you  get  them  you  can  remove  the  big  particles  by  using  a  fish  net  as  a  strainer  and  use  the  fine  sand.                

 
 Thanks.  I  will  do  that.
 So  I  can  just  remove  the  big  particles,  rinse  it  well  and  use  it..                

 
 Yes!  Once  you  do  that,  the  result  you  should  get  will  be  something  as  shown  in  the  picture  below.  Nice  and  fine  sand.
 
                 

 
 Hi  Prem,
 
 I  was  under  the  impression  that  fine  sand  will  be  a  bit  more  difficult  to  clean  and  might  get  sucked  into  the  filtration  if  the  Cichlids  play  around  in  it.
 
 Will  it  be  better  to  go  for  construction  sand  with  slightly  larger  particles?
 
 Also,  if  cichlids  show  better  color  with  darker  substrate,  what  do  you  think  about  black  substrate  (pebbles)?
 
 For  example,  here's  a  pic  from  Kush's  (Chinkz)  African  tank:  
 
 
 
 (orig  thread:  http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=17720)
 
 Cheers,
 Sid
 
 (PS:  Based  on  your  advice,  I  might  go  for  the  black  substrate  too  for  my  cichlid  tanks.)                

 
 There  have  been  lot  of  debates  about  using  fine  sand  in  many  forums.  I  have  used  both.  The  granular  ones  and  the  sand  and  I  personaly  prefer  the  fine  sand  as  they  are  easier  to  clear  compared  to  popular  belief  that  they  are  tough  to  clean.
 
 The  fine  sand  does  not  allow  the  muck  to  get  in  and  settle  whereas  the  granulated  one  allows  the  muck  to  get  in  deep  and  cause  water  quality  issues.
 
 I  have  fine  sand  in  4  of  my  tanks  and  its  more  natural  and  also  easy  to  maintain.  Just  ensure  that  you  dont  use  too  much  fine  sand,  just  a  small  layer  should  do.
 
 Black  substrates  actually  make  the  fish  look  more  darker.  I  dont  prefer  black  substrate.  Some  of  the  best  fronts  tank  that  I  have  seen  have  used  the  same  fine  sand  and  they  looked  stunning.
 
 In  order  to  avoid  the  sand  from  entering  the  filter  I  reverse  the  suction  pipe  so  that  the  pipe  is  not  kept  near  the  sand  base  but  few  inches  from  the  surface  of  water.  This  ensures  the  filter  does  not  suck  in  the  sand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ Forum Index ->  Substrates, Rocks, Driftwood and Decorations All times are UTC + 5.5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum




Powered By: phpBB © 2001 - 2006 phpBB Group
Nuke-Evo Conversion By: Evo-Themez | iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray


[News Feed] [Forums Feed] [Downloads Feed] [Web Links Feed] [Validate robots.txt]


Forum Modification Pack by Revolution-Mods.

PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2006 by Francisco Burzi.
All logos, trademarks and posts in this site are property of their respective owners, all the rest © 2006 by the site owner.
Powered by Nuke-Evolution
[ Page Generation: 6048 Seconds | Memory Usage: 3.16 MB | DB Queries: 112 ]

Do Not Click