Home
Home
Forums
Forums
Downloads
Downloads
Account
Account
Aquatic Gardeners Association
Main Menu   
 
HomeHome  
    Home
Community  
    Forums
    FAQ
    Content
    Gallery
    Reviews
    Surveys
    Topics
Members  
    Private Messages
    Your Account
    Profile
    Members List
Statistics  
    Statistics
Files & Links  
    Downloads
    Web Links
News  
    News
    Submit News
Other  
    Advertising
    Shout Box
    Site Map
    Recommend Us
    Feedback
    Legal Notices


User Info   
 
Good morning 
Anonymous



Register
Lost Password
Username
Password

 Online:   
Member(s):

Guest(s):
01. Guest
02. Guest
03. Guest
04. Guest
05. Guest
06. Guest
07. Guest
08. Guest
09. Guest
10. Guest
11. Guest
12. Guest
13. Guest
14. Guest
15. Guest
16. Guest
17. Guest
18. Guest
19. Guest
20. Guest
21. Guest
22. Guest
23. Guest
24. Guest
25. Guest
26. Guest
27. Guest
28. Guest
29. Guest
30. Guest
31. Guest
32. Guest
33. Guest
34. Guest
35. Guest
36. Guest
37. Guest
38. Guest
39. Guest
40. Guest
41. Guest
42. Guest
43. Guest
44. Guest
45. Guest
46. Guest
47. Guest
48. Guest
49. Guest
50. Guest
51. Guest
52. Guest
53. Guest

Most Ever Online:   
 Guest(s): 1,909
 Member(s): 0
 Total: 1,909

Forums Forums:   
 Posts: 340,290
 Topics: 30,881




http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ :: View topic - Sand as substrate
Forum Index  |  Search  |  Usergroups  |  Edit your profile  |  Members  |  Log in to check your private messages
Ranks  |  Staff  |  Statistics  |  Board Rules  |  Forum FAQ  |  Log in



Sand as substrate

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ Forum Index -> Substrates, Rocks, Driftwood and Decorations
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lawrenze
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Jan 25, 2005
Posts: 1557
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 2:10 pm Post subject: Sand as substrate Reply with quote

 Hi  guys
 Would  like  to  use  sand  as  substrate  for  my  Tropheus  tank,  what  type  of  sand  is  best  suitable?  Can  i  use  the  local  construction  sand?  Thanks
 Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lawrenze
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Jan 25, 2005
Posts: 1557
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:38 pm Post subject:  Reply with quote

 Hey  Guys
 No  one  has  a  clue  Sad  have  seen  pictures  on  the  web  where  sand  is  used  as  substrate  and  it  looks  very  natural...anyone  Smile  
 Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
retro_gk
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Jul 09, 2003
Posts: 3496
Location: Trivandrum, Kerala

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 11:40 pm Post subject:  Reply with quote

 Construction  sand  is  fine.  Wash  it  thoroughly  to  get  rid  of  all  debris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lawrenze
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Jan 25, 2005
Posts: 1557
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:20 am Post subject:  Reply with quote

 Thanks  Rahul  Smile  
 Should  i  keep  it  to  about  an  inch  or  so  to  avoid  sand  turning  black  due  to  lack  of  water  circulation?
 Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trevor
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Jul 27, 2003
Posts: 4290
Location: Bangalore

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:56 am Post subject: Re: Sand as substrate Reply with quote

                                                   
crazyfishy  wrote:                
Hi  guys
 Would  like  to  use  sand  as  substrate  for  my  Tropheus  tank,  what  type  of  sand  is  best  suitable?  Can  i  use  the  local  construction  sand?  Thanks
 Rgds                

 
 Wash  the  construction  sand  with    hydrochloric  acid  (HCL).  That  will  remove  all  impurities  and  give  the  dull  sand  a  nice  bright  look.  HCL  30%  should  be  available  in  Chennai  for  around  Rs.  10/-  a  litre  with  the  chemical  dealers.  A  few  litres  will  be  more  than  sufficient.  And  don't  forget  to  do  plenty  of  rinsing.  Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Lawrenze
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Jan 25, 2005
Posts: 1557
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 11:09 am Post subject:  Reply with quote

 Thanks  Trevor  Smile  
 Wash  sand  with  hcl  Surprised  is  that  safe?  how  can  i  be  sure  its  safe  to  go  into  the  tank  (the  sand  i  mean  not  me  Chuckle  )
 Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ Forum Index ->  Substrates, Rocks, Driftwood and Decorations All times are UTC + 5.5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum




Powered By: phpBB © 2001 - 2006 phpBB Group
Nuke-Evo Conversion By: Evo-Themez | iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray


[News Feed] [Forums Feed] [Downloads Feed] [Web Links Feed] [Validate robots.txt]


Forum Modification Pack by Revolution-Mods.

PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2006 by Francisco Burzi.
All logos, trademarks and posts in this site are property of their respective owners, all the rest © 2006 by the site owner.
Powered by Nuke-Evolution
[ Page Generation: 6048 Seconds | Memory Usage: 2.79 MB | DB Queries: 92 ]

Do Not Click