Home
Home
Forums
Forums
Downloads
Downloads
Account
Account
Sree Padma
Main Menu   
 
HomeHome  
    Home
Community  
    Forums
    FAQ
    Content
    Gallery
    Reviews
    Surveys
    Topics
Members  
    Private Messages
    Your Account
    Profile
    Members List
Statistics  
    Statistics
Files & Links  
    Downloads
    Web Links
News  
    News
    Submit News
Other  
    Advertising
    Shout Box
    Site Map
    Recommend Us
    Feedback
    Legal Notices


User Info   
 
Good morning 
Anonymous



Register
Lost Password
Username
Password

 Online:   
Member(s):

Guest(s):
01. Guest
02. Guest
03. Guest
04. Guest
05. Guest
06. Guest
07. Guest
08. Guest
09. Guest
10. Guest
11. Guest
12. Guest
13. Guest
14. Guest
15. Guest
16. Guest
17. Guest
18. Guest
19. Guest
20. Guest
21. Guest
22. Guest
23. Guest
24. Guest
25. Guest
26. Guest
27. Guest
28. Guest
29. Guest
30. Guest
31. Guest
32. Guest
33. Guest
34. Guest
35. Guest
36. Guest
37. Guest
38. Guest
39. Guest
40. Guest
41. Guest
42. Guest
43. Guest
44. Guest
45. Guest
46. Guest
47. Guest
48. Guest
49. Guest
50. Guest
51. Guest
52. Guest
53. Guest
54. Guest
55. Guest
56. Guest
57. Guest
58. Guest
59. Guest
60. Guest
61. Guest
62. Guest
63. Guest
64. Guest
65. Guest
66. Guest
67. Guest
68. Guest
69. Guest
70. Guest
71. Guest
72. Guest
73. Guest
74. Guest
75. Guest
76. Guest
77. Guest
78. Guest
79. Guest
80. Guest
81. Guest
82. Guest
83. Guest
84. Guest
85. Guest
86. Guest
87. Guest
88. Guest
89. Guest
90. Guest
91. Guest
92. Guest
93. Guest
94. Guest
95. Guest
96. Guest
97. Guest
98. Guest
99. Guest
100. Guest
101. Guest
102. Guest
103. Guest
104. Guest
105. Guest
106. Guest
107. Guest
108. Guest
109. Guest
110. Guest
111. Guest
112. Guest
113. Guest
114. Guest
115. Guest
116. Guest
117. Guest
118. Guest
119. Guest
120. Guest
121. Guest
122. Guest
123. Guest
124. Guest
125. Guest
126. Guest
127. Guest
128. Guest
129. Guest
130. Guest
131. Guest
132. Guest
133. Guest
134. Guest
135. Guest
136. Guest
137. Guest
138. Guest
139. Guest
140. Guest
141. Guest
142. Guest
143. Guest
144. Guest
145. Guest
146. Guest
147. Guest
148. Guest
149. Guest
150. Guest
151. Guest
152. Guest
153. Guest
154. Guest
155. Guest
156. Guest
157. Guest
158. Guest
159. Guest
160. Guest
161. Guest
162. Guest
163. Guest
164. Guest
165. Guest
166. Guest
167. Guest
168. Guest
169. Guest
170. Guest
171. Guest
172. Guest
173. Guest
174. Guest
175. Guest
176. Guest
177. Guest
178. Guest
179. Guest
180. Guest
181. Guest
182. Guest
183. Guest
184. Guest
185. Guest
186. Guest
187. Guest
188. Guest
189. Guest
190. Guest
191. Guest
192. Guest
193. Guest
194. Guest
195. Guest
196. Guest
197. Guest
198. Guest
199. Guest
200. Guest
201. Guest
202. Guest
203. Guest
204. Guest
205. Guest
206. Guest
207. Guest
208. Guest
209. Guest
210. Guest
211. Guest

Most Ever Online:   
 Guest(s): 464
 Member(s): 16
 Total: 480

Forums Forums:   
 Posts: 338,919
 Topics: 30,560




http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ :: View topic - Frontier Timer :: How to connect
Forum Index  |  Search  |  Usergroups  |  Edit your profile  |  Members  |  Log in to check your private messages
Ranks  |  Staff  |  Statistics  |  Board Rules  |  Forum FAQ  |  Log in



Frontier Timer :: How to connect
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ Forum Index -> Lighting for Planted Aquaria
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
indrajit
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Posts: 44


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 2:09 am Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 Hi  Vikram,
 
 Thanks  for  your  comments.  I  did  open  up  the  timer   Chuckle  !  and  understood  how  it  works.  Just  wondering  if  the  pin  5  is  on  when  the  timer  is  in  on  state  or  is  it  4  in  normal  condition.  As  I  mentioned,  my  house  wall  socket  is  connected  the  wrong  way,  so  I  was  just  wondering.  But  that's  ok.  Its  working  fine  and  that's  all  that  matters  :)
 
 Cheers
 
 Indrajit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
johnny
Frequent Visitor to IAH
Frequent Visitor to IAH



Joined: Jun 22, 2007
Posts: 228
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:57 am Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 oh  there  is  a  thread  on  this.  Cant  believe  i  missed  it.  Been  breaking  my  head  over  the  same  problem  for  the  past  couple  of  months.   Wall Bang  
 Finally  should  get  this  fixed  today.  Guess  there  is  a  whole  list  of  contacts  I  can  ping  if  I  still  cant  get  it  righ  Cheering  t!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Madan
Admin
Admin



Joined: Jun 29, 2003
Posts: 7083
Location: Bengaluru, India

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:02 am Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 Let  me  put  in  some  jargon  on  this  thread,  ignore  this  if  your  timer  is  working  well.
 
 There  are  2  types  of  timers.
 
 One  with  only  one  Normally  Open  Contact  called  the  NO  contact.
 
 This  contact  will  close  (conduct  electricity)  only  when  the  timer  is  activated  by  you  as  per  your  programming.
 
 The  second  type  of  timer  has  two  contacts.
 
 1  Normally  open  NO  contact  which  works  as  above.
 
 2.  Normally  Closed  -  NC  contact  -  which  works  as  reverse  of  the  above,  that  is  the  contact  is  closed  when  you  have  programmed  the  timer  to  be  off.
 
 You  will  not  use  the  Normally  Closed  contact  for  anything  until  you  want  one  appliance  to  switch  ON  when  the  other  switches  OFF.
 
 Then  there  is  the  third  type  of  timer  with  2  NO  contacts  and  independent  programming,  then  4  NO  contacts,  then  2  No  and  2  NC  contacts.  The  price  keeps  increasing  as  the  number  of  contacts  and  the  complexity  increase.  
 
 I  now  have  a  "theben"  timer  thanks  to  raghu  which  has  two  NO  contacts  which  can  be  independently  programmed,  I  need  this  to  have  my  tank  lights  on  two  different  cycles.
 
 You  can  insert  a  relay  in  the  circuit,  and  use  a  NC  contact  to  function  as  a  NO  contact.  It  goes  on  and  on.   Chuckle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nash81
Regular Poster on IAH
Regular Poster on IAH



Joined: Feb 05, 2008
Posts: 1489
Location: Delhi

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:31 am Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 Surprised   Surprised   Surprised   After  a  extremely  hard  try  at  understanding  what  you  just  typed  there  madan  sir  ..i  think  this  is  a  better  option  ..  hehehe   Drinking
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Madan
Admin
Admin



Joined: Jun 29, 2003
Posts: 7083
Location: Bengaluru, India

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:48 am Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 That's  why  I  put  in  the  post  so  late  down  the  thread.
 
 The  other  posts  say  it  in  layman's  terms,  and  that  is  good  enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fishysai
Frequent Visitor to IAH
Frequent Visitor to IAH



Joined: Dec 13, 2008
Posts: 121
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 4:45 am Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

                                                   
Madan  wrote  (View  Post):                

 
 You  can  insert  a  relay  in  the  circuit,  and  use  a  NC  contact  to  function  as  a  NO  contact.  It  goes  on  and  on.   Chuckle                

 
 hi..
 it  would  be  great  if  you  could  throw  some  more  light  on  this..  Smile
 ps  :  with  a  kindergarten  level  know  how  of  electronics..  a  bit  of  a  layman  pointer  would  be  just  great..  :D
 
 thanks
 
 regards
 
 sai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Madan
Admin
Admin



Joined: Jun 29, 2003
Posts: 7083
Location: Bengaluru, India

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:26 am Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 Ok  give  me  a  while  I'll  come  back  with  a  photograph  of  a  relay  and  how  to  go  about  the  connections.
 
 You  will  not  require  this  and  you  will  never  use  it  in  my  opinion  but  then  let  the  info  be  here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fishysai
Frequent Visitor to IAH
Frequent Visitor to IAH



Joined: Dec 13, 2008
Posts: 121
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:46 am Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 Thanks  a  tonne..  Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
indrajit
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Posts: 44


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:13 am Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 Hi  fishysai,
 
 Rupak  has  posted  a  diagram  for  the  connections  (see  page  2  of  this  thread).  If  you  have  the  Frontier  TM-619-2  timer,  it  will  surely  work.  
 
 Let  me  try  to  explain  little  more...
 
 Connector  1  -  You  have  to  attach  2  wires.  One  goes  to  wall  socket  live  line  (use  a  tester  to  see  which  line  glows),  the  other  should  go  to  one  end  the  socket,  to  which  you  will  plug  the  device.   
 
 Connector  2  -  Here  also  you  need  to  attach  2  wires.  One  should  go  to  the  wall  socket  neutral  (in  which  the  tester  won't  glow).  The  other  wire  should  go  to  the  Connector  3.  
 
 Connector  3  -  Only  one  wire  that  is  connected  to  Connector  2.
 
 Connector  4  or  5  -  One  wire  to  the  other  end  of  the  socket,  to  which  you  will  plug  the  device.  One  configuration  will  turn  on  when  timer  is  on  (in  my  case  it  is  Connector  5)  and  the  other  configuration  will  be  off  (Connector  4).  When  the  timer  is  off,  the  first  configuration  will  be  off  whereas  the  second  configuration  will  turn  on  (meant  for  night  light  etc.  when  the  main  lights  are  off).
 
 The  way  I  have  set  it,  I  get  the  main  lights  in  the  aquarium  turned  on  when  the  timer  is  on  and  the  night  lamp  for  the  room  turn  on  in  the  night  when  the  main  lights  are  off.
 
 Hope  I  didn't  confuse  you  further.  You  may  call  me  for  any  further  assistance.
 
 Regards
 
 Indrajit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fishysai
Frequent Visitor to IAH
Frequent Visitor to IAH



Joined: Dec 13, 2008
Posts: 121
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:48 am Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 hey..
 many  thanks  to  Rupak  and  Indrajit...  finally  got  that  little  bugger  to  work..  lol
 
 I  noticed  one  thing  though.  In  the  above  circuit,  it  is  the  neutral  line  that  acts  as  a  switch  right?  I  mean,  it  is  the  neutral  the  completes  or  breaks  the  circuit.  ??
 This  means  that  the  phase  is  still  live  at  the  appliance  socket  and  there  by  the  appliance  itself.
 That  makes  it  a  wee  bit  risky  for  guys  like  me  who  keep  messing  around  with  the  aquarium  thinking  its  safe  because  the  lights  are  off  (obviously  forgetting  to  unplug  the  mains)  :d
 
 So  i  was  thinking,  would  it  be  possible  to  cut  the  live  circuit  off  at  the  timer  itself??  (and  not  have  it  loop  back  till  the  neutral  at  the  timer  before  being  cut  off)
 for  example,  would  it  be  possible  to  swap  the  phase  and  neutral  coming  to  pins  1  and  2  and  still  have  the  timer  working???
 I  havent  tried  it  myself  because  i  did  not  want  to  risk  a  short  circuit  or  fry  the  timer  :D
 
 Hope  I  did  not  miss  something  major  here  and  ask  something  too  dumb  :D
 
 Thanks
 
 Regards
 
 Sai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
indrajit
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Posts: 44


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 1:25 am Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 Hi  Sai,
 
 You  are  right.  It  is  the  circuit  that  is  cut  by  disconnecting  the  neutral  here.  Well  I  am  not  an  electrician  too.  But  it  will  be  worthwhile  giving  it  a  try.  Will  check  it  out  if  that  works.  
 
 If  anyone  could  throw  some  light  here  will  be  well  appreciated.  Thanks
 
 Regards
 
 Indrajit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
fishysai
Frequent Visitor to IAH
Frequent Visitor to IAH



Joined: Dec 13, 2008
Posts: 121
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:12 pm Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 Hi  Indrajit
 
 thank  you.  Do  keep  us  posted  regarding  how  it  goes..  :)
 
 
 thanks
 
 regards
 
 sai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
fishysai
Frequent Visitor to IAH
Frequent Visitor to IAH



Joined: Dec 13, 2008
Posts: 121
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 12:19 am Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 Hi  indrajit..
 
 tried  connecting  pins  1  and  3  instead  of  2  and  3  (  as  in  your  circuit  above)  so  1  is  stil  phase,  and  2  neutral  and  only  now,  since  1  and  three  are  connected,  the  switching  happens  on  the  line  and  not  the  neutral.
 
 thankfully  it  worked  (  luckily  i  did  not  end  up  with  a  fried  timer..  lol  )
 
 there  seems  to  be  a  little  hiccup  with  regards  to  the  switching  during  the  initial  power  up  though...
 
 will  do  a  little  more  tweaking  and  update  you
 
 
 thanks
 
 regards
 
 sai
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
indrajit
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Posts: 44


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 1:07 pm Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 Hi  fishysai,
 
 Sounds  good.  Is  the  timer  alternating  the  circuit  between  pins  4  and  5  properly?  Wondering  why  the  hiccup..  but  if  it  is  working  well  it  should  be  fine.  Also  check  if  the  timer  is  heating  up.  
 
 Regards
 
 Indrajit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nikunj
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Aug 11, 2009
Posts: 1


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:31 pm Post subject: Re: Frontier Timer :: How to connect Reply with quote

 Hi  all,
 
 I  have  bought  the  TM-619H-2  timer  which  has  4  pins.  I  want  to  use  it  to  turn  On/OFF  the  electric  water  heater  in  my  hostel.  My  question  is  regarding  the  current  rating  of  the  timer.  The  geyser  (water  heater)  is  25Lit,  2kWatt  and  takes  about  15Amp.  Is  the  timer  TM-619H  capable  of  handling  such  an  amount  of  current?
 
 Or  do  i  need  to  use  some  relay  or  contactor  in  between  to  supply  current  to  the  water  heater.  The  specifications  of  this  particular  timer  model  says  30A  /  250V  AC.  So  is  it  capable  of  handling  up  to  30  A  without  getting  damaged?  Just  want  to  clear  my  confusion.
 
 Any  help  in  this  matter  will  be  deeply  appreciated.
 
 Thanks,
 Nikunj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ Forum Index ->  Lighting for Planted Aquaria All times are UTC + 5.5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum




Powered By: phpBB © 2001 - 2006 phpBB Group
Nuke-Evo Conversion By: Evo-Themez | iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray


[News Feed] [Forums Feed] [Downloads Feed] [Web Links Feed] [Validate robots.txt]


Forum Modification Pack by Revolution-Mods.

PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2006 by Francisco Burzi.
All logos, trademarks and posts in this site are property of their respective owners, all the rest © 2006 by the site owner.
Powered by Nuke-Evolution
[ Page Generation: 6048 Seconds | Memory Usage: 3.19 MB | DB Queries: 120 ]

Do Not Click