Home
Home
Forums
Forums
Downloads
Downloads
Account
Account
Advertise on IAH
Main Menu   
 
HomeHome  
    Home
Community  
    Forums
    FAQ
    Content
    Gallery
    Reviews
    Surveys
    Topics
Members  
    Private Messages
    Your Account
    Profile
    Members List
Statistics  
    Statistics
Files & Links  
    Downloads
    Web Links
News  
    News
    Submit News
Other  
    Advertising
    Shout Box
    Site Map
    Recommend Us
    Feedback
    Legal Notices


User Info   
 
Good morning 
Anonymous



Register
Lost Password
Username
Password

 Online:   
Member(s):

Guest(s):
01. Guest
02. Guest
03. Guest
04. Guest
05. Guest
06. Guest
07. Guest
08. Guest
09. Guest
10. Guest
11. Guest
12. Guest
13. Guest
14. Guest
15. Guest
16. Guest
17. Guest
18. Guest
19. Guest
20. Guest
21. Guest
22. Guest
23. Guest
24. Guest
25. Guest
26. Guest
27. Guest
28. Guest
29. Guest
30. Guest
31. Guest
32. Guest
33. Guest
34. Guest
35. Guest
36. Guest
37. Guest
38. Guest
39. Guest
40. Guest
41. Guest
42. Guest
43. Guest
44. Guest
45. Guest
46. Guest
47. Guest
48. Guest
49. Guest
50. Guest
51. Guest
52. Guest
53. Guest
54. Guest
55. Guest
56. Guest
57. Guest
58. Guest
59. Guest
60. Guest
61. Guest
62. Guest
63. Guest
64. Guest
65. Guest
66. Guest
67. Guest
68. Guest
69. Guest
70. Guest
71. Guest
72. Guest
73. Guest
74. Guest
75. Guest
76. Guest
77. Guest
78. Guest
79. Guest
80. Guest
81. Guest
82. Guest
83. Guest
84. Guest
85. Guest
86. Guest
87. Guest
88. Guest
89. Guest
90. Guest
91. Guest
92. Guest
93. Guest
94. Guest
95. Guest
96. Guest
97. Guest
98. Guest
99. Guest
100. Guest
101. Guest
102. Guest
103. Guest
104. Guest
105. Guest
106. Guest
107. Guest
108. Guest
109. Guest
110. Guest
111. Guest
112. Guest
113. Guest
114. Guest
115. Guest
116. Guest
117. Guest
118. Guest
119. Guest
120. Guest
121. Guest
122. Guest
123. Guest
124. Guest
125. Guest
126. Guest
127. Guest
128. Guest
129. Guest
130. Guest
131. Guest
132. Guest
133. Guest
134. Guest
135. Guest
136. Guest
137. Guest
138. Guest
139. Guest
140. Guest
141. Guest
142. Guest
143. Guest
144. Guest
145. Guest
146. Guest
147. Guest
148. Guest
149. Guest
150. Guest
151. Guest
152. Guest
153. Guest
154. Guest
155. Guest
156. Guest
157. Guest
158. Guest
159. Guest
160. Guest
161. Guest
162. Guest
163. Guest
164. Guest
165. Guest
166. Guest
167. Guest
168. Guest
169. Guest
170. Guest
171. Guest
172. Guest
173. Guest
174. Guest
175. Guest
176. Guest
177. Guest
178. Guest
179. Guest
180. Guest
181. Guest
182. Guest
183. Guest
184. Guest
185. Guest
186. Guest
187. Guest
188. Guest
189. Guest
190. Guest
191. Guest
192. Guest
193. Guest
194. Guest
195. Guest
196. Guest
197. Guest
198. Guest
199. Guest
200. Guest
201. Guest
202. Guest
203. Guest
204. Guest
205. Guest
206. Guest
207. Guest
208. Guest
209. Guest
210. Guest
211. Guest
212. Guest
213. Guest
214. Guest
215. Guest
216. Guest
217. Guest
218. Guest
219. Guest

Most Ever Online:   
 Guest(s): 464
 Member(s): 16
 Total: 480

Forums Forums:   
 Posts: 339,970
 Topics: 30,810




http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ :: View topic - Upgrading Substrate to ADA Aqua Soil in Planted Tank
Forum Index  |  Search  |  Usergroups  |  Edit your profile  |  Members  |  Log in to check your private messages
Ranks  |  Staff  |  Statistics  |  Board Rules  |  Forum FAQ  |  Log in



Upgrading Substrate to ADA Aqua Soil in Planted Tank

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ Forum Index -> Aquascaping
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SMNaren
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Jan 04, 2008
Posts: 22
Location: Bangalore

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:12 pm Post subject: Upgrading Substrate to ADA Aqua Soil in Planted Tank Reply with quote

 Hi  all,
 
 I  am  having  established  planted  tank(2.5  x  1.5  x  1.5)  with  Laterite  substrate  in  it.  I  have  Java  Fern,  Java  Moss,  Valisneria  and  some  cryptocynes  in  it.
 It  contains  Neons  and  few  cherry  Red  Shrimps  in  it.   Its  with  Co2  DIY  and  inbuilt  filter.
 
 I  planned  to  upgrade  the  aquascaping  and  planning  to  add  some  carpet  plants.  I  thought  of  adding  layer  of  ADA  AMAZONIA  on  the  top.  Even  i  had  got  the  9l  pack  of  ADA  AMAZONIA.  I  read  in  internet  that  ADA  AMAZONIA  took  2-3  weeks  to  get  settled  and  also  it  has  risk  of  Ammonia  Spikes.
 
 -  Can  you  please  let  me  know  suggestions  to  add  ADA  soil  in  existing  Aqua  ?
 -  When  to  add  fishes  in  the  same  ?
 -  How  to  check  for  ammonia  level  ?  Do  we  need  to  have  ammonia  test  kit  while  using  ADA  Soils  ?
 
 I  am  not  sure  whether  i  could  keep  Neons  and  Shrimp  in  another  Bucket  or  Tub  for  these  many  day.
 
 Since  Neons  are  very  sensitive  to  water  quality,  i  am  not  sure  about  when  to  add  the  same  
 
 Please  help  me  out  with  suggestions.
 
 regards
 Naren
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmvbab
Regular Poster on IAH
Regular Poster on IAH



Joined: May 19, 2008
Posts: 1332
Location: Bangalore/Coimbatore

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:21 pm Post subject: Re: Upgrading Substrate to ADA Aqua Soil in Planted Tank Reply with quote

 Do  not  remove  the  fish.  Add  the  ADA  in  small  quantities.  As  you  had  mentioned  carpets,  Im  assuming  you  would  be  needing  about  1"  thickness  overall.  Divide  the  bag  into  3  parts,  and  add  each  part  on  top  of  the  substrate  every  week  or  ten  days.  Double  the  water  change  during  this  time.  You  will  have  no  issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
apcmge
Regular Poster on IAH
Regular Poster on IAH



Joined: Jun 08, 2011
Posts: 518
Location: Jaipur

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:27 pm Post subject: Re: Upgrading Substrate to ADA Aqua Soil in Planted Tank Reply with quote

 But  is  it  wise  and  suggestable  to  add  a  top  layer  of  ADA  on  Laterite..Wont  they  both  get  mixed  up  in  long  run??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
SMNaren
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Jan 04, 2008
Posts: 22
Location: Bangalore

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 3:29 pm Post subject: Re: Upgrading Substrate to ADA Aqua Soil in Planted Tank Reply with quote

 Thanks  Vignesh.
 
 -  Does  ADA  Soil  wont  cause  ammonia  spike  if  i  add  by  part  by  part  ?
 
 -  i  also  read  that  water  will  become  very  cloudy  after  adding  ADA  Soil.  Do  we  need  to  rinse  the  ADA  soil  before  adding  the  same  ?  I  usually  use  to  Rinse  substrate  with  Hotwater  and  keep  in  water  for  2-3  days  before  adding  into  Aqua.
 
 Regards
 Naren
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmvbab
Regular Poster on IAH
Regular Poster on IAH



Joined: May 19, 2008
Posts: 1332
Location: Bangalore/Coimbatore

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:50 am Post subject: Re: Upgrading Substrate to ADA Aqua Soil in Planted Tank Reply with quote

                                                   
apcmge  wrote  (View  Post):                
But  is  it  wise  and  suggestable  to  add  a  top  layer  of  ADA  on  Laterite..Wont  they  both  get  mixed  up  in  long  run??                

 
 A  lot  of  people  mix  and  match  substrate  for  various  reasons.  ADA  or  for  that  matter  any  prepared  substrate  like  ADA  makes  it  a  lot  easier  to  plant  than  laterite  or  golden  sand.  Especially  carpet  plants.
 
 I  have  seen  people  use  a  top  layer  of  ADA  on  laterite.  It  would  not  mix  up,  but  might  over  a  very  long  time.  But  by  then  the  roots  would  have  taken  up  well.  Actually  ADA  by  volume  is  a  lot  lighter  compared  to  laterite  which  would  be  more  densely  packed.
 
 ADA  would  cause  a  nutrient  spike  initially,  thats  why  you  should  increase  the  water  changes  in  the  initial  stages.  Do  not  wash  ADA.  Water  would  cloud  up  a  little,  nothing  to  be  concerned,  will  become  fine  in  a  day  or  two  max.  Depends  on  your  filtration.
 
 Definitely  do  not  put  it  in  hot  water.  These  are  specialized  substrate  for  aquariums,  not  like  the  golden  sand  that  we  pick  up  from  LFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SMNaren
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Jan 04, 2008
Posts: 22
Location: Bangalore

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:02 am Post subject: Re: Upgrading Substrate to ADA Aqua Soil in Planted Tank Reply with quote

 Thanks  Vignesh.  This  information  is  very  useful.  I  will  let  you  know  after  adding  the  substrate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aquadip2000
Moderator - Sponsor's Forum



Joined: Jul 05, 2003
Posts: 509
Location: Bangalore, India

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:10 am Post subject: Re: Upgrading Substrate to ADA Aqua Soil in Planted Tank Reply with quote

 Hi  Naren,
 
 
                                                 
SMNaren  wrote  (View  Post):                

 
 I  am  having  established  planted  tank(2.5  x  1.5  x  1.5)  with  Laterite  substrate  in  it.  I  have  Java  Fern,  Java  Moss,  Valisneria  and  some  cryptocynes  in  it.
 It  contains  Neons  and  few  cherry  Red  Shrimps  in  it.   Its  with  Co2  DIY  and  inbuilt  filter.
 
 I  planned  to  upgrade  the  aquascaping  and  planning  to  add  some  carpet  plants.  I  thought  of  adding  layer  of  ADA  AMAZONIA  on  the  top.  Even  i  had  got  the  9l  pack  of  ADA  AMAZONIA.  I  read  in  internet  that  ADA  AMAZONIA  took  2-3  weeks  to  get  settled  and  also  it  has  risk  of  Ammonia  Spikes.
 
 -  Can  you  please  let  me  know  suggestions  to  add  ADA  soil  in  existing  Aqua  ?
 
                 

 
 What  is  the  carpet  plant  you  are  trying  to  grow??  
 
 It  is  firstly  not  advisable  to  add   large  quantities  of  Aquasoil  into  a  running  aquarium.
 Please  take  note  that  an  aquarium  has  a  very  delicate  ecological  balance  and  you  have  to  keep  that  in  mind  when  you  want  to  upgrade  or  do  something  new  in  your  aquarium.  The  live  of  fish  and  other  creatures  are  dependent  on  you.
 
 The  foundation  of  an  aquarium  is  the  substrate  and  it  is  therefore  important  to  have  the  right  foundation  to  have   a  good  nature  aquarium  in  the  long  run.  You  cannot  say  i  will  add  the  foundation  after  building  the  house  right!!  The  same  principle  applies  here  also.
 
 
                                                 
SMNaren  wrote  (View  Post):                

 -  When  to  add  fishes  in  the  same  ?
 -  How  to  check  for  ammonia  level  ?  Do  we  need  to  have  ammonia  test  kit  while  using  ADA  Soils  ?                

 
 Well  usually  when  we  set  up  an  aquarium  using  Aquasoil  ,  we  wait  for  about  30  days  for  the  beneficial  bacteria  to  colonize  and  the  plants  to  stabilize  before  we  add  fishes  to  an  aquarium.  This  is  not  mandatory  for  the  soil  as  is  the  general  misconception.  As  the  Aquasoil  is  sourced  from  Nature  ,  there  is  some  organic  matter  in  it  which  releases  Ammonia  ,  this  is  very  essential  when  we  set  up  a  new  aquarium  as  it  not  only  helps  the  plants  to  grow  quickly  but  also  feeds  the  bacteria  if  it  is  present  in  the  aquarium.  
 
 If  you  run  a  test  in  an  aquarium  where  we  add  only  aquasoil  but  use  a  well  established  running  filter  with  colonized  bacteria  ,  you  will  notice  almost  zero  ammonia  in  less  than  7  days.  Guaranteed.
 The  plants  also  absorb  ammonia  quickly  and  act  as  a  filter  to  remove  toxins  in  the  water.
 
 The  cloudy  water  usually  appears  if  the  filtration  is  bad  as  the  bacteria  takes  time  to  establish  and  convert  Ammonia  to  Harmless  Nitrate.  The  ammonia  in  the  water  will  make  the  water  look  cloudy.
 
 If  you  could  follow  the  entire  substrate  system  of  ADA  i.e.  from  the  bottom  of  the  tank  with  the  following  you  will  have  close  to  near  perfect  results
 
 1.  Bacter  100-  100  types  of  beneficial  bacteria
 2.  Clear  super-  Feed  for  the  just  dropped  in  bacteria
 3.  Tourmaline  BC-  Initiates  the  dormant  bacteria  to  become  active
 4.Power  Sand  -  Large  particles  prevent  the  substrate  from  becoming  anaerobic  and   also  supply  fertilization  for  heavy  root  feeder  plants  like  Crypts  and  Echinodorus.
 5.  Penac  P-  Helps  relieve  the  stress  in  plants  when  transplanted
 6.  Penac  W-  Helps  stabilize  water  quality  quickly  and  improves  filtration  efficiency.
 7.  Aquasoil  
 
 Hope  this  helps!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
SMNaren
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Jan 04, 2008
Posts: 22
Location: Bangalore

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 4:53 pm Post subject: Re: Upgrading Substrate to ADA Aqua Soil in Planted Tank Reply with quote

 Hi  Adip,
 
 Thanks  for  your  gudience.  Now  i  am  very  clear  that  i  need  to  seperate  my  fishes  and  then  setup  the  tank.  I  will  allow  it  for  settled.
 I  need  some  clarifications  may  be  basic  questions:
 -  How  to  identify  that  tank  is  settled  and  with  out  Ammonia  spikes  ?  (Since  i  dont  have  Ammonia  Tes  kit,  Is  there  any  easy  way  to  tell  whether  water  is  settled  or  not)
 
 -  In  some  post,  they  mentioned  about  the  adding  Peat  to  Soil  ?  what  is  use  of  Peat  ?
 
 Thanks  for  your  info
 Naren
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aquadip2000
Moderator - Sponsor's Forum



Joined: Jul 05, 2003
Posts: 509
Location: Bangalore, India

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:16 am Post subject: Re: Upgrading Substrate to ADA Aqua Soil in Planted Tank Reply with quote

                                                   
SMNaren  wrote  (View  Post):                

 
 I  need  some  clarifications  may  be  basic  questions:
 -  How  to  identify  that  tank  is  settled  and  with  out  Ammonia  spikes  ?  (Since  i  dont  have  Ammonia  Tes  kit,  Is  there  any  easy  way  to  tell  whether  water  is  settled  or  not)
 
 -  In  some  post,  they  mentioned  about  the  adding  Peat  to  Soil  ?  what  is  use  of  Peat  ?
 
 Naren                

 
 This  is  what  we  usually  do  after  setting  up  an  aquarium.
 
 Day  0  -  Setup  tank  (aquascape  with  plants)  also  start  Co2  supply
 Day  2  -  Change  50%  Water  add  brighty  K
 Day  4  -  Change  50%  water  and  add  brighty  K
 Day  6  -  Change  50%  Water  and  add  brighty  K,  remove  any  dead  plants
 Day  10-  Change  30%  Water  and  add  Amano  shrimps,  SAE  and  Ottocinclus  .(Also  add  brighty  K)
 Day  14-  Change  30%  Water   add  Brighty  K
 Day21  -  Change  30%   water  and  trim  plants  if  required.  Add  Step  1  and  Brighty  K
 Day  22-  Brighty  K  +  Step  1  (Daily)
 
 From  Day  2  you  need  to  add  Brighty  K  on  a  daily  basis  to  supply  Potassium  for  the  plants.
 
 If  you  have  a  decent  biological  filter  am  sure   that  when  you  add  your  shrimps  you  will  know  if  Ammonia  is  present,  the  shrimps  cannot  tolerate  Ammonia.  They  will  die  ....that  is  a  sign  to  change  water  and  wait  for  another  few  days  before  adding  more  shrimp.
 
 You  can  add  any  fish  you  wish  to  add  into  the  beautiful  aquascape  after  30  days.
 
 PEAT
 
 Peat  is  beneficial  to  have  in  the  substrate.If  your  using  the  ADA  Power  Sand  Series  it  contains  some  peat  along  with  pumice  stones  and  many  other  ingredients  to  give  your  plant  the  best  rooting  medium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
josyjames
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Apr 21, 2010
Posts: 2500
Location: Bangalore-Ramamurthy Nagar

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:09 am Post subject: Re: Upgrading Substrate to ADA Aqua Soil in Planted Tank Reply with quote

 Wow..  Thats  a  very  good  detailed  explanation  Adip.  It  will  be  really  helpful  for  the  newbies  using  ADA  soil.   Thumb Up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ Forum Index ->  Aquascaping All times are UTC + 5.5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum




Powered By: phpBB © 2001 - 2006 phpBB Group
Nuke-Evo Conversion By: Evo-Themez | iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray


[News Feed] [Forums Feed] [Downloads Feed] [Web Links Feed] [Validate robots.txt]


Forum Modification Pack by Revolution-Mods.

PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2006 by Francisco Burzi.
All logos, trademarks and posts in this site are property of their respective owners, all the rest © 2006 by the site owner.
Powered by Nuke-Evolution
[ Page Generation: 6048 Seconds | Memory Usage: 3.02 MB | DB Queries: 104 ]

Do Not Click