Home
Home
Forums
Forums
Downloads
Downloads
Account
Account
Aquatic Gardeners Association
Main Menu   
 
HomeHome  
    Home
Community  
    Forums
    FAQ
    Content
    Gallery
    Reviews
    Surveys
    Topics
Members  
    Private Messages
    Your Account
    Profile
    Members List
Statistics  
    Statistics
Files & Links  
    Downloads
    Web Links
News  
    News
    Submit News
Other  
    Advertising
    Shout Box
    Site Map
    Recommend Us
    Feedback
    Legal Notices


User Info   
 
Good morning 
Anonymous



Register
Lost Password
Username
Password

 Online:   
Member(s):

Guest(s):
01. Guest
02. Guest
03. Guest
04. Guest
05. Guest
06. Guest
07. Guest
08. Guest
09. Guest
10. Guest
11. Guest
12. Guest
13. Guest
14. Guest
15. Guest
16. Guest
17. Guest
18. Guest
19. Guest
20. Guest
21. Guest
22. Guest
23. Guest
24. Guest
25. Guest
26. Guest
27. Guest
28. Guest
29. Guest
30. Guest
31. Guest
32. Guest
33. Guest
34. Guest
35. Guest
36. Guest
37. Guest
38. Guest
39. Guest
40. Guest
41. Guest
42. Guest
43. Guest
44. Guest
45. Guest
46. Guest
47. Guest
48. Guest
49. Guest
50. Guest
51. Guest
52. Guest
53. Guest

Most Ever Online:   
 Guest(s): 1,006
 Member(s): 0
 Total: 1,006

Forums Forums:   
 Posts: 340,134
 Topics: 30,836




http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ :: View topic - CO2 Setup Issue
Forum Index  |  Search  |  Usergroups  |  Edit your profile  |  Members  |  Log in to check your private messages
Ranks  |  Staff  |  Statistics  |  Board Rules  |  Forum FAQ  |  Log in



CO2 Setup Issue

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ Forum Index -> CO2 Equipment for Planted Aquaria
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kailasjo
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Apr 08, 2019
Posts: 8


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 3:30 pm Post subject: CO2 Setup Issue Reply with quote

 Hi
 
 I  have  newly  setup  pressurised  CO2  system  with  these  equipments-
 1)  2KG  Cylinder  (bought  from  LFS,  it's  made  up  from  fire-extinguisher  cylinder)
 2)  Mufan  dual-gauge  regulator  with  built-in  solenoid
 3)  ISTA  3-in-1  Ceramic  Diffuser
 The  diffuser  looks  good  as  I  am  using  it  for  past  2  months  with  DIY  and  another  pressurised  setup.  I  also  periodically  clean  it  with  bleach.
 I  get  nice  CO2  mist  through  the  diffuser  at  the  rate  of  1  bubble  per  2  seconds.
 
 However,  whenever  I  shut  down  the  solenoid,  within  couple  of  hours  my  CO2  pipe  gets  flattened  like  the  air  has  been  sucked  out  of  it.  Because  of  this,  it  takes  lot  of  time  (an  hour  or  more)  for  CO2  to  start  from  diffuser  when  I  switch  on  the  solenoid.  Basically  it  has  to  inflate  the  pipe  back.  If  I  remove  the  pipe,  it  get  inflated  quickly  and  everything  starts  working  after  fitting  it  back.
 [Trying  to  attach  pics  to  give  better  idea  of  the  setup  and  issue.]
 
 
 I  suspected  some  back-pressure  from  the  diffuser  or  regulator  and  hence  tried  putting  ISTA  check  value  just  before  the  diffuser.  But  it  did  not  make  any  change.
 
 Kindly  help  on  fixing  this.  Thanks  in  advance.
 
 Regards,
 Kailas
 
 [img]https://imgur.com/vOMGgXF[/img]
 
 [img]https://imgur.com/KfJKHHI[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nskumar
Frequent Visitor to IAH
Frequent Visitor to IAH



Joined: Jan 13, 2012
Posts: 123
Location: Chennai

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:20 pm Post subject: Re: CO2 Setup Issue Reply with quote

 Hi,  
 
 Put  a  NRV  three  inches  above  diffuser.  
 
 This  will  fix  your  issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kailasjo
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Apr 08, 2019
Posts: 8


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:31 pm Post subject: Re: CO2 Setup Issue Reply with quote

 Thanks  nskumar  for  the  response.  I  will  definitely  try  this  out.
 
 Could  you  please  shed  some  light  on  these  points  -
 1)  What  is  the  root  cause  for  this  behaviour?
 2)  Why  the  built-in  NRV  in  my  diffuser  or  even  the  other  NRV  installation  (which  was  around  1-2  inches  above  diffuser)  did  not  solve  the  issue?  Any  specific  reason  it  should  be  3+  inches  above  the  diffuser?
 
 Thanks  &  Regards,
 Kailas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aquaholic
Moderator
Moderator



Joined: Jul 26, 2007
Posts: 772
Location: Trivandrum

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:01 pm Post subject: Re: CO2 Setup Issue Reply with quote

                                                   
kailasjo  wrote  (View  Post):                
Thanks  nskumar  for  the  response.  I  will  definitely  try  this  out.
 
 Could  you  please  shed  some  light  on  these  points  -
 1)  What  is  the  root  cause  for  this  behaviour?
 2)  Why  the  built-in  NRV  in  my  diffuser  or  even  the  other  NRV  installation  (which  was  around  1-2  inches  above  diffuser)  did  not  solve  the  issue?  Any  specific  reason  it  should  be  3+  inches  above  the  diffuser?
 
 Thanks  &  Regards,
 Kailas                

 
 Are  you  using  PU  tube?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kailasjo
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Apr 08, 2019
Posts: 8


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 3:41 pm Post subject: Re: CO2 Setup Issue Reply with quote

 I  am  not  100%  sure,  but  I  believe  mine  is  PU  tube  as  -
 1)  It's  given  by  LFS  along  with  CO2  kit.
 2)  LFS  has  multiple  planted  aquariums  with  similar  looking  tubes.
 3)  The  tube  looks  different  than  air-pump  tube.
 
 Now  I've  installed  ISTA  Stainless  Steel  NRV,  3-4  inch  above  diffuser  suggested.
 However,  I  saw  some  flattening  of  tube  today  morning  (but  it  was  completely  flat  as  before).
 Interestingly,  the  flattening  was  stopped  for  last  4-5  days,  when  the  NRV  valve  was  removed.
 
 So,  to  summarise  -
 1)  Tube  flattened  with  and  without  ISTA  Plastic  NRV.
 2)  It  stopped  flattening  after  3-4  days.  NRV  was  not  installed.
 3)  Today  it  partially  flattened  again  with  ISTA  Stainless  Steel  NRV.
 Kindly  share  if  you  have  any  inputs  on  this  behaviour.
 
 Thanks  &  Regards,
 Kailas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Preeths
Committed Member of IAH
Committed Member of IAH



Joined: Nov 07, 2007
Posts: 2023
Location: Bangalore

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 3:41 am Post subject: Re: CO2 Setup Issue Reply with quote

 The  problem  is  with  the  tube.  it  is  very  porous  and  the  CO2  diffuses  out  due  to  a  difference  in  concentration.  You  can  ignore  it,  or  get  a  good  quality  tube.  i  found  its  not  worth  the  effort  to  fix.  stop  worrying.  you  may  loose  a  few  grams  of  co2  but  wont  have  any  more  adverse  effect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aquaholic
Moderator
Moderator



Joined: Jul 26, 2007
Posts: 772
Location: Trivandrum

Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2019 7:04 pm Post subject: Re: CO2 Setup Issue Reply with quote

                                                   
kailasjo  wrote  (View  Post):                
I  am  not  100%  sure,  but  I  believe  mine  is  PU  tube  as  -
 1)  It's  given  by  LFS  along  with  CO2  kit.
 2)  LFS  has  multiple  planted  aquariums  with  similar  looking  tubes.
 3)  The  tube  looks  different  than  air-pump  tube.
 
 Now  I've  installed  ISTA  Stainless  Steel  NRV,  3-4  inch  above  diffuser  suggested.
 However,  I  saw  some  flattening  of  tube  today  morning  (but  it  was  completely  flat  as  before).
 Interestingly,  the  flattening  was  stopped  for  last  4-5  days,  when  the  NRV  valve  was  removed.
 
 So,  to  summarise  -
 1)  Tube  flattened  with  and  without  ISTA  Plastic  NRV.
 2)  It  stopped  flattening  after  3-4  days.  NRV  was  not  installed.
 3)  Today  it  partially  flattened  again  with  ISTA  Stainless  Steel  NRV.
 Kindly  share  if  you  have  any  inputs  on  this  behaviour.
 
 Thanks  &  Regards,
 Kailas                

 
 I  think  you  should  change  the  tube  and  see  how  it  works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kailasjo
IAH New Member
IAH New Member



Joined: Apr 08, 2019
Posts: 8


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 4:02 pm Post subject: Re: CO2 Setup Issue Reply with quote

 Thanks  guys.  I  will  ignore  the  issue  for  now  as  advised  by  Preeths.
 Will  consider  changing  the  tubes  while  setting  up  new  another  planted  tank  in  next  couple  of  months.
 
 Thanks  &  Regards,
 Kailas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view http://indianaquariumhobbyist.com/community/ Forum Index ->  CO2 Equipment for Planted Aquaria All times are UTC + 5.5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum




Powered By: phpBB © 2001 - 2006 phpBB Group
Nuke-Evo Conversion By: Evo-Themez | iCGstation v1.0 Template By Ray


[News Feed] [Forums Feed] [Downloads Feed] [Web Links Feed] [Validate robots.txt]


Forum Modification Pack by Revolution-Mods.

PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2006 by Francisco Burzi.
All logos, trademarks and posts in this site are property of their respective owners, all the rest © 2006 by the site owner.
Powered by Nuke-Evolution
[ Page Generation: 6048 Seconds | Memory Usage: 2.88 MB | DB Queries: 97 ]

Do Not Click